Skip to main content

Search on the website

Thyroid cancers

Thyroid cancers “The therapeutic strategy depends largely on the risk of persistence or recurrence of the disease.”  Dr Giuseppe Costante, Endocrinologist and Head of Thyroid Cancer at the EURACAN Project. How we treat thyroid cancers The Institut Jules Bordet treats all types of thyroid cancer. The great majority can be cured but require correct assessment of the risk of recurrence and follow-up care for life. ...

Gynaecological cancers

Gynaecological cancers “ We provide support and assistance to our patients in every aspect of their illness ”      Dr Jean-Marie Nogaret, Surgeon and head of the Gynaeco-Mammary Surgery Clinic How we treat gynaecological cancers The term gynaecological cancer covers cancers of the endometrium, the ovaries, the cervix, the vulva and the vagina. These intimate cancers require multidisciplinary, personalised care and treatment. ...

Bone and soft tissue cancers

Bone and soft tissue cancers “Physiotherapy after orthopaedic surgery must remain in expert hands and must be gentle and delicate.”  Dr Michael Gebhart, Coordinator of the Institut Jules Bordet Soft Tissue and Bone Tumour Multidisciplinary Oncology Team. How we treat bone and soft tissue cancers The medical team at the Institut Jules Bordet treats tumours that appear in the soft tissue (muscles, fat, nerves, blood vessels, etc), primary bone cancer in children (in close collaboration with HUDERF – the Hôpital Universitaire des Enfants Reine Fabiola) and in adults as well as bone metastases.  ...

Liver cancers

Liver cancers “A surgeon never takes the decision to operate on their own. The management of hepatic tumours is always multidisciplinary.”  Dr Vincent Donckier, Hepatobiliary surgeon and head of surgery, Institut Bordet. How we treat liver cancers There are 2 types of hepatic cancer: primary liver cancer and hepatic metastases originating from other primary tumours. Surgery is the major treatment for these cancers but it is limited by the need to conserve sufficient functional liver tissue. Other therapies may be combined with surgery. ...

Urological and male genital cancers

Urological and male genital cancers “Our patients are supported by a team of medical and paramedical specialists.”      Dr Alexandre Peltier, UROLOGICAL SURGEON How we treat male urological and genital cancers Urogenital cancers are tumours that develop in the urinary or genital system. ...

Brain tumours

Brain tumours « Neuro-Oncology is above all a multidisciplinary approach at the centre of which the quality of life of the patient is crucial »  Dr Philippe Martinive Clinic Director How we treat brain tumours The Institut Jules Bordet treats both primary brain cancers and brain metastases. Medical imaging plays a major role in this treatment because, in the brain, accurate definition of the tumour is crucial. ...

Neuroendocrine tumours

Neuroendocrine tumours “A neuroendocrine tumour is a particular kind of digestive cancer that requires very specific management.”  Dr Alain Hendlisz, Coordinator of the Digestive Tumour CMO, Institut Bordet. How we treat neuroendocrine tumours Although often situated in an organ of the digestive tract, neuroendocrine tumours behave differently from other digestive cancers and must often be treated in a specific way. ...

Hematology

Hematology department Our role The Institut Bordet Clinical Haematology Department specialises in determining and treating diseases of the blood.The Institut Bordet is committed to the treatment of these diseases and to offering patients high-quality, individual treatment.In addition to the traditional approach to blood diseases, the Institut is also engaged in the development of innovative an...

Surgery

Surgery department Our rol The principal mission of the Institut Bordet Department of Surgery is the surgical treatment of cancerous diseases. More specifically, our surgeons strive to: offer leading-edge surgical techniques in the treatment of cancer; integrate surgery into global cancer treatment; encourage approaches combining surgery and other treatments such as chemotherapy, radiotherapy,...

Day hospital

Oncological day hospital     Our role The aim of the oncology day hospital is to avoid hospitalisation with night stays while limiting the impact of the disease and its treatments on the personal, family, social and professional life of patients with cancer. The following may be carried out in the Day Hospital: Conventional anti-cancer treatments (chemotherapy, targeted treatm...

Medical Imagery

Radiology – Medical Imaging Our role The radiology department of the Institut Jules Bordet  brings together the various medical imaging techniques, except for nuclear medicine. The techniques concerned are: conventional radiology (radiography including mammography and bone densitometry), tomodensitometry (X-ray scanning),  ultrasound (ultrasound imaging), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). A...

Infectious diseases

Clinic of infectious diseases Our role The objective of the infectious diseases clinic at the Institut Jules Bordet is to prevent and treat the infectious complications occurring in cancer patients, whether they are connected with the cancer itself or with its treatment (chemotherapy, radiotherapy, surgery, etc.) ...

Medical oncology

Medical Oncology Clinic Our role The Institut Bordet Medical Oncology Clinic has a number of roles: diagnosis and therapeutic care of patients with solid tumours overseeing administration of cancer medication for in-patients and out-patients monitoring patients during and after their treatment. The Clinic takes a multidisciplinary approach. Therapeutic decisions are made in consultation with ...

Supportive and palliative cares

Clinic of supportive and palliative cares Our rol Once limited to end-of-life, supportive care is now at the heart of cancer treatment at the Institut Bordet. And this includes from the start of treatment. The Supportive and Palliative Care Clinic provides continuing comfort care aimed at controlling and alleviating the symptoms and consequences of cancer and of certain treatments: pain, diges...

Urology

Urology department Our role The Urology Department is responsible for the medical and surgical treatment of pathologies associated with the male and female urinary tract and the male genitalia.Its activities are essentially diagnosis and treatment and the monitoring of cancerous and non-cancerous conditions affecting the prostate, kidneys, bladder and male genitalia.As our work is principally ...

Molecular Immunology Laboratory

Molecular Immunology Laboratory (MIU) Overview The Molecular Immunology Laboratory strives to improve our understanding of the immune response in cancer and how it can be manipulated to the benefit of the patients. It investigates lymphocyte activities in several clinical conditions:  First, by studying the organization and cellular state of CD4+ T cells and germinal center B cells infiltratin...

Laboratory of Oncology and Experimental Surgery (LOCE)

Laboratory of Oncology and Experimental Surgery (LOCE) Description The Laboratory of Oncology and Experimental Surgery (LOCE) is a laboratory at the Institut Bordet recognised by the ULB Faculty of Medicine. It specialises in research into malignant melanoma and pigment cells in general. It combines fundamental research with preclinical and translational research. The LOCE has a self-contained...

Information Management Unit (UGI)

Information Management Unit (UGI) Our role The Information Management Unit (UGI) provides support to the clinical departments and management of the Institut Bordet.The UGI carries out 4 particular missions: An epidemiology mission – by developing, managing and operating the hospital Cancer Register and by incorporating into it data from multidisciplinary oncological consultations. In so doing ...

Skin cancers

Skin cancers “The quality of life of our patients is at the centre of our multidisciplinary care”   Prof. Annie Drowart, Coordinator of the “skin” COM of the Institut Jules Bordet. How we treat skin cancers The Institut Jules Bordet treats all skin cancers: melanomas, spinocellular carcinomas, basocellular carcinomas, Merkel cell carcinomas, etc. ...

Aller au contenu principal

Recherche sur le site

cancers colon

Les cancers du côlon et du rectum « Notre philosophie : soigner tout en épargnant au patient des traitements inutiles et pénibles »   Dr Alain Hendlisz, Coordinateur de la COM digestive de l’Institut Jules Bordet Comment nous traitons les cancers du côlon et du rectum Les cancers colorectaux sont parmi les plus fréquents dans la population. D’importants progrès ont été effectués pour une meilleure prise en charge. Celle-ci nécessite une approche multidisciplinaire. ...

cancers thyroide

Les cancers de la thyroïde « La stratégie thérapeutique dépend notamment du risque de persistance ou de récidive de la maladie »      Dr Giuseppe Costante, Endocrinologue et responsable des cancers de la thyroïde dans le projet EURACAN Comment nous traitons les cancers de la thyroïde L’Institut Jules Bordet prend en charge tous les cancers de la thyroïde. La grande majorité peut être guérie, mais nécessite une juste évaluation du risque de récidive du cancer et un suivi à vie. ...

cancers gynecologiques

Les cancers gynécologiques « Nous accompagnons et soutenons les patientes dans tous les aspects de leur maladie »      Dr Jean-Marie Nogaret, Chirurgien et responsable de la Clinique de Chirurgie Gynéco-mammaire Comment nous traitons les cancers gynécologiques Les cancers gynécologiques recouvrent les cancers de l’endomètre, des ovaires, du col de l’utérus, de la vulve et du vagin. Ces cancers de l’intime requièrent une prise en charge multidisciplinaire et personnalisée. ...

cancers os tissus mous

Les cancers des os et des tissus mous « La kinésithérapie après une chirurgie orthopédique doit rester dans des mains expertes et elle doit être douce et délicate. »      Dr Michael Gebhart, COORDINATEUR DE LA CMO DES TUMEURS OSSEUSES ET DES TISSUS MOUS. Comment nous traitons les cancers des os et des tissus mous L’équipe médicale de l’Institut Jules Bordet prend en charge les tumeurs apparaissant dans les tissus mous (muscle, graisse, nerf, vaisseaux sanguins…), les cancers primitifs de l’os chez l’enfant (en étroite collaboration avec l’HUDERF) ou chez l’adulte et les métastases osseuses. ...

cancers foie

Les cancers du foie « Le chirurgien ne prend jamais seul la décision d’opérer. La prise en charge des tumeurs hépatiques est toujours multidisciplinaire. »    Dr Vincent Donckier, Chirurgien hépato-biliaire et chef de service de chirurgie, Institut Bordet Comment nous traitons les cancers du foie Il existe 2 groupes de cancers hépatiques : les cancers primitifs du foie et les métastases hépatiques de tumeurs primitives d’autres origines. La chirurgie est le traitement majeur pour ces cancers, mais elle est limitée par la nécessité de conserver suffisamment de foie fonctionnel. D’autres thérapies peuvent être associées. ...

cancers urologiques

Les cancers urologiques et génitaux masculins « Nos patients sont soutenus par une équipe de spécialistes médicaux et paramédicaux. »      Dr Alexandre Peltier, CHIRURGIEN UROLOGUE Comment nous traitons les cancers urologiques et génitaux masculins Les cancers uro-génitaux désignent les tumeurs qui se développent au niveau du système urinaire ou génital. ...

tumeurs cerveau

Les tumeurs du cerveau « La Neuro-Oncologie est avant tout une approche multidisciplinaire au centre de laquelle la qualité de vie du patient est cruciale »  Dr Philippe Martinive Chef de Clinique Comment nous traitons les tumeurs du cerveau L’Institut Jules Bordet traite aussi bien les cancers primitifs du cerveau que les métastases cérébrales. L’imagerie médicale joue un rôle majeur dans cette prise en charge. Car dans le cerveau, délimiter la tumeur avec précision est capital. ...

tumeurs neuroendocrines

Les tumeurs neuroendocrines « La tumeur neuroendocrine est un cancer digestif particulier qui nécessite une prise en charge spécifique »      Dr Alain Hendlisz, Coordinateur de la CMO des tumeurs digestives de l’Institut Bordet. Comment nous traitons les tumeurs neuroendocrines Bien que souvent situées dans un organe du tube digestif, les tumeurs neuroendocrines se comportent différemment des autres cancers digestifs. Souvent, elles doivent être traitées de façon spécifique.  ...

Anatomie pathologique

Service d'anatomie pathologique Notre rôle Le service d’Anatomie pathologique est chargé de l’analyse des tumeurs provenant de l’Institut Jules Bordet, du CHU St-Pierre et des sites d’Ixelles et Molière des hôpitaux IRIS SUD. Il est un centre de référence dans différents domaines dont le diagnostic des cancers du sein, gynécologiques, digestifs, uro-génitaux, pulmonaires, des tissus mous,...

Hématologie

Service d'hématologie Notre rôle Le Service d’Hématologie Clinique de l’Institut  Jules Bordet  est spécialisé dans la mise au point et la prise en charge des maladies du sang.  L’Institut Jules Bordet est investi dans le traitement de ces maladies dans le but d’offrir au patient une prise en charge individuelle de haute qualité. Outre la prise en charge classique de ces maladies, l’Insti...

Anesthésiologie - réanimation

Service d'anesthésiologie - réanimation Notre rôle Le travail de l’anesthésiste est souvent peu connu, mais il est fondamental pour le bien-être du patient. En effet, avant tout, c’est lui qui évalue l’état de santé du patient avant, pendant et après l’opération, le chirurgien s’occupant essentiellement de l’organe à opérer. Avant l’opération : la première évaluation se fait lors d’une co...

Hôpital de jour

Hôpital de jour oncologique     Notre rôle L’Hôpital de jour oncologique a pour objectif d’éviter une hospitalisation avec nuitée tout en limitant l’impact de la maladie et des traitements sur la vie personnelle, familiale, sociale et professionnelle des patients atteints de cancer.Peuvent être réalisés en Hôpital de jour : Des traitements anticancéreux conventionnels (chimiot...

Imagerie médicale

Imagerie - radiologie médicale Notre rôle Le service de radiologie de l’Institut Jules Bordet  rassemble les différentes techniques d’imagerie médicale, à l’exception de la médecine nucléaire. Les techniques concernées sont : la radiologie conventionnelle (radiographies dont la mammographie et la densitométrie osseuse), la tomodensitométrie (scanner à rayons X),  l’échographie (imagerie par ...

Maladies infectieuses

Clinique des maladies infectieuses Notre rôle La clinique des maladies infectieuses de l’Institut Jules Bordet a pour mission de prévenir et de traiter les complications infectieuses survenant chez les patients cancéreux, qu’elles soient liées à la tumeur elle-même ou à son traitement (chimiothérapie, radiothérapie, chirurgie, etc.) ...

Médecine interne

Service de médecine interne Notre rôle Le service de Médecine interne de l’Institut Jules Bordet a pour mission d’assurer : L’organisation avec les médecins seniors d’autres spécialités de l’activité hospitalière médicale et l’encadrement de la formation des étudiants du graduat et du post-graduat. La coordination des différentes spécialités médicales sœurs de la médecine interne, en dehors d...

Médecine nucléaire

Service de médecine nucléaire Notre rôle Le Service de médecine nucléaire de l’Institut Jules Bordet offre aux patients des examens diagnostics de type fonctionnel ou moléculaire, ainsi que des traitements par radiothérapie moléculaire ciblée. Les examens diagnostics se différentient de ceux réalisés dans le service de Radiologie par l’administration intraveineuse de molécules marquées par des...

Clinique d'oncologie médicale

Clinique d'oncologie médicale Notre rôle La Clinique d’oncologie médicale de l’Institut Jules Bordet a plusieurs rôles : le diagnostic et la prise en charge thérapeutique des patients présentant des tumeurs solides, la surveillance de l’administration de médicaments anticancéreux en hospitalisation ou en ambulatoire, le suivi des patients, pendant et après leur traitement. L’approche es...

Radiothérapie

Service de radiothérapie Notre rôle La radiothérapie reste l’un des 3 piliers du traitement des patients atteints d’un cancer. La moitié des patients en bénéficie à un moment ou un autre de la maladie. La radiothérapie peut participer à la guérison, améliorer la qualité de vie ou encore soulager certaines douleurs.La radiothérapie utilise les propriétés des radiations ionisantes. Les récents p...

Soins supportifs et palliatifs

Clinique des soins supportifs et palliatifs Notre rôle Autrefois réservés à la fin de vie, les soins supportifs sont aujourd’hui au cœur de la prise en charge des cancers à l’Institut Jules Bordet. Et ce, dès le début des traitements.La Clinique des soins supportifs et palliatifs assure des soins continus de confort qui visent à contrôler et soulager les symptômes et conséquences du cancer et ...

Urologie

Service d'urologie Notre rôle Le Service d’Urologie prend en charge tant le traitement médical que chirurgical des pathologies liées à l’appareil urinaire masculin et féminin et à l’appareil génital masculin.Ses activités couvrent essentiellement le diagnostic et le traitement ainsi que le suivi des affections cancéreuses ou non de la prostate, des reins, de la vessie et des organes de l’...